Journey to the Days of Plenty

It began as a post about why I write and then it led to lots of memories, especially about going hungry…

Pearlz Dreaming

2012-11-19 2012-11-19 001 003

My earliest writing experiences were about nature and food.  These were soon followed by intense emotions. My first chosen forms were short poems and a set form for school – journals. Writing of food came from not always having enough food.  I wrote of food to experience it.  I wrote to alleviate hunger.

Writing made me taste what I couldn’t have.  Writing made me dream of a house full of food when you needed it. No more stomach aches.  Beauty on a plate.    Writing gave me a new hunger -the hunger for words that do magic – that say what you want them to say – take you where you long to be.

Later I was to find out about a poet named John Clare.  He lived in poverty at the end of his life.  He wrote on scraps of old paper.  He too wrote of nature. Nature was…

View original post 485 more words

Leave a Reply

