Yarning with Bubu

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is my youngest son’s interview with his Bubu (grandparent)

 

Hello Bubu.  I am doing a project about my family history.
Can you help?

What do you want to know about your project?

I am studying my family tree for school
And we have your father and mother’s name.

I can only go back as far as my grandmother.  I am doing some research on this.

Ok then what is her name?

My grandfather on my mother’s side name was Ako Gope I think, and my father’s side was Oake Apepe.
My grandmother was Fala Ekelakoa but my
Father’s side I don’t remember.
But I think it was Wagua.

Do you have photos that you could send me?

No dear sorry
I don’t have any photos at all of my grand parents
Oh wait, we do have one of my Dad.

I am looking through photos that Mark  Mosco and anthropoloist took.
Mark might be the best person to ask.

Ok.
What are your siblings names, and do you know their dates of birth.

I don’t have their birthday dates because all of the records got destroyed when the mission house got burnt down.

My big sister’s name was Mary Gope.
My brother’s name was Paul Apepe.
My little sister’s name is Dorother Pinofaeoa.

Ok.

Now I remember my grandmother’s name on my father’s side. Her name was Pinofaeoa Wagua.
My little brother’s name is Bonaventure Aua.
But he calls himself Peter.
Your great grand father’s name was Petro Malolo.
I have their children’s names but I lost the list so I have to ask family to send me the list again.

All the old people are dead now so it will be very hard for me to do my family tree research but I will try.

I  have to do some cultural background research from all of my family culture. I might need some artifacts..

Your mum has a head dress photo and grass skirts.

Does the family have a totem?

The Bird of paradise is our clan’s totem.
Black Salmon is another.
The pattern that Salmon makes on the rock going up Akaifu River is one of the patterns we use to colour the grass skirts in our clan.
Red is the main colour in our clan.
Woven arm and leg bands are worn by women and men
Fresh flowers and ferns are worn on the bodies.

Is it a specific bird of paradise?

Yes, it is Ragiana
The red bird of paradise on my FB page on Uncle Bill’s engraved stone.

What is the tribe’s name?

Maipa Fakai.

The artifacts that I have are a synthetic string bag, a Papua New Guinean flag, a shirt that you gave Dad with all the PNG flags on it.

We might have two grass skirts but we are still looking for them and we might have a picture of your village.

Do the Mekeo people have a flag?

No but someone is working on it

 Thanks Bubu

One thought on “Yarning with Bubu

Leave a Reply

