Beginning the Polish

Dancingintoslipstreamlarge
A possible cover for an upcoming book – bringing my poetry on Art and Spirituality together – June

My blog is the place where the journey to my books has begun.

I have fed them continuously just like journals with drafts and polished works.

Blogs have helped me make writing, remembering, reflecting and imagining a regular practice.

They have encouraged me to make photography a regular practice.

Through reading others blogs I have found storytellers, poets, writers, travellers, film makers, and people who want to bring peace to the world through art.They have inspired me with their journeys, writing, photographs and blogs.

Blogs helped me so much when I lived in the country and sometimes felt cut off from a larger creative world.

Blogs helped me heal from the damage of a cyclone to  my old home and become a community journalist.

My own blogs have become a resource full of roughly cut books. They have become archives for my family and friends to search our shared history.

Now I begin another journey.  On this one I take the rough cuts and unstructured writings shared  here and begin to place them into book structures. 

It is time for me to polish more.

I move beyond the relatively free form of my blog and start to create anthologies and memoirs with sections, and chapters, and titles.  I edit my blogs and add and subtract from them.

I create new pieces to connect blogs, and  put in these books, and save up for when they go public.  They are held back from my blog to be surprises.  My blog increasingly becomes a place for sharing the process of what I am up too rather than the final product.

The most inspiring things about blogs are:

1- The way they can potentially connect with readers and invite an immediate response. 

2- The way they can respond to national and international events in the moment.

3- Their accessibilty to a publishing platform that for many in the world is inexpensive.

4- Their global reach.

5- Their capacity to build an audience for an emerging storyteller’s art forms.

Of course there are challenges and these can be:

1- It’s becomes addictive to keep feeding your blog and not get on with sending off works for publication.

2- You share work you could or should be publishing as a book or article.

3- Copyright protection.

4-Some blogs focus too much on sales and not enough on connection, they are little more than sales pitches and bloggers like these can spam you.

5-It can be challenging to build a large audience for your blog, and requires time, good quality content and social skills.

 

I  will still blog when I have something I don’t want to forget, or something that moves my heart,  or maybe a photo to share, but now I  truly have to share a little less on my blog, and make you some SURPRISES. 

More soon…..

(c) June Perkins

2 thoughts on “Beginning the Polish

Leave a Reply

